• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - date Saturday, April 20/2024. discussion Please RSVP Here to confirm and get your invitation and the location details. RSVP NOW so organizers can plan to get sufficient food etc. One week to go! More info and agenda
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion AND THE NEW LOCATION

Would this work (and other questions from a complete noob)

Wyldeside

I'll preface this all by saying :

-I don't own a mill
-I've never used a mill
-I don't know the terminology
-I have done just about enough research to be dangerous!

I have a project where I need to cut small tubes of aluminum, brass, and possibly copper (Think cutting pen bodies in half). The materials are hollow, and I don't think more than 2 - 3 mm thick.

I know that a proper lathe would bang this job out no problem. I can't however justify spending 500 dollars or more on a mini lathe... yet. Here's my idea :

I was thinking that I could chuck the materials into my drill press. secure a cutting tool in a directional vise, and then move the tool into the spinning material (much like a vertical lathe I guess). I'm not sure if the drill press was designed to handle lateral pressure like that so I would go slow, and let the tool do the work.

Does anyone foresee any disastrous consequences from a setup like this? Aside from maybe burning out the drill press? The drill press is a cheap tabletop, and was free to me, so I'm not overly worried about it.

If all goes to plan, this could turn into mass production in which case I would invest in a proper tool. I'm more in a proof of concept / prototyping phase right now.