• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - date Saturday, April 20/2024. discussion Please RSVP Here to confirm and get your invitation and the location details. RSVP NOW so organizers can plan to get sufficient food etc. It's Tomorrow Saturday! you can still RSVP until I stop checking my phone tomorrow More info and agenda
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion AND THE NEW LOCATION

New from Calgary

RRSpeed92

Hey! I'm new to the forum and have finally taken the plunge to become a member after finding help on here numerous times. I have no formal experience with metal working. I woke up one morning, watched a few Youtube videos on aluminum melting and thought I would like to try that. I've built 4 furnaces since. The first 2 using coal for fuel, the 3rd was a 2 propane burner deal, and the 4th was a 4 burner furnace. I purchased a Lincoln 140 Mig welder to fabricate the furnaces as well as the crucibles and the pour trays. I now have a bunch of aluminum bricks and no idea what to do with them. I was given a 1960's Delta Rockwell drill press that I modified for light milling with the addition of a milling table. Between that and a belt sander I was able to get a fair portion of things built. Everything was great until I realized I don't have the tools to weld aluminum. I needed a machine to work with steel. I am now 3 milling machines in. At this point if I put my mind to it, I can typically build whatever I need. All I need is a Tig welder, a lathe, and I should be capable of making anything my imagination can think of. I'm excited that I found the Canadian Hobby Metal Workers forum and look forward to any future experience