• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - date Saturday, April 20/2024. discussion Please RSVP Here to confirm and get your invitation and the location details. RSVP NOW so organizers can plan to get sufficient food etc. One week to go! More info and agenda
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion AND THE NEW LOCATION

Mokume Gane Copper & Brass

DanCom

Ok, so I've never done this before, but certainly did lots of reading and asked some questions on this forum (Thanks Tim). Here's my evening of making mokume gane with copper and brass sheet.

I started with one sheet of copper and one sheet of brass. Nice and clean.
This was overpriced at the hobby store, but I figured it was saving me the the scrubbing.
These sheets are 4 x 10" which should make five 2"x2" pieces per per sheet.
The copper is a little thicker than the brass, but we'll live with it.

With a ruler or square and a permanent marker, layout the 2" squares.

Do this for both the brass and copper sheets.

You can probably cut this with some snips, but I choose the porta-bandsaw,

Same 2" square pieces for the brass.

Here I am holding a nice stack of alternating copper & brass plates.

I squeeze them into my handy compression plate thingy.
It's really two pieces of 1/4" plate with four 5/16" bolts to squish the copper and brass.
Clamps also work, but whatever you use has to fit into the forge for heating.

As per Tim's suggestion, I got some Borax. No, not that crazy comedian from Sloblazekhstan, but rather a trip to the Walmart in the laundry isle.

I mixed a small amount of Borax (3 teaspoons) with a smaller amount of water to make a paste.