• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - date Saturday, April 20/2024. discussion Please RSVP Here to confirm and get your invitation and the location details. RSVP NOW so organizers can plan to get sufficient food etc. One week to go! More info and agenda
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion AND THE NEW LOCATION

Metal working trades.

Chris Cramer

Super User
Vendor
Premium Member
Since I can not currently find any work as a welder Apprentice, I am thinking about picking up a different trade within the same field. What is the main difference between sheet metal working and welding? Would a sheet metal worker, or a metal fabricator be doing more hands on work with metal than a welder, while still doing a fair amount of welding? I do really enjoy welding and would not want to give it up completely for a job that uses mostly CNC machinery to shape metal. But what would be the average amount of fabrication a welder would take up in his career?

Chris Cramer

Super User
Vendor
Premium Member
A millwright generally just maintains, repairs, and installs industrial machinery. All the welding they are qualified to do is tack weld the parts and allow a welder to complete the joint. And taking into account the fact that I have no left peripheral vision makes it not suitable for me to work in that setting. So which trade besides millwright would welding be most beneficial to?

Alexander

Ultra Member
Administrator