• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - date Saturday, April 20/2024. discussion Please RSVP Here to confirm and get your invitation and the location details. RSVP NOW so organizers can plan to get sufficient food etc. One week to go! More info and agenda
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion AND THE NEW LOCATION

JohnWa

Johnwa

Ultra Member
I've been a member for some time but haven't introduced myself.
I'm a retired electrical engineer. I have a southbend lathe and a machinetoolswarehouse milling machine that are both operable. I have a fair number of non operating machines, another southbend lathe, a minimill (tore down for CNC conversion), southbend shaper, and a largish unknown shaper are the main ones.
I have a small aluminum casting furnace and have built the gingery shaper.
This summer's project is landscaper oriented so I haven't had much shop time, maybe this winter.

John
Ps moved this to where it belongs :)

Last edited by a moderator:

Janger

(John)
Administrator
Vendor
Hey John. Welcome. Good to hear about your equipment. Can you casting furnace manage round blanks to make sheaves and pulleys?

Johnwa

Ultra Member
My crucible handles about 5 lbs of aluminum. Minus sprue and gates that leaves something in excess of 4 lbs for the casting. Here's a picture of a pulley I made for the gingery shaper. It's just over 8" OD, just fits on my lathe. There is a flaw in one arm but it came out pretty good.
image.jpg

Janger

(John)
Administrator
Vendor
Wow. I keep thinking about buying a wood band saw and making a big pulley to slow it down. Might need two pulleys to go from 1700sfm to 100sfm.

PeterT

Ultra Member