• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - tentative date Saturday, April 20/2024. Other regions are also discussing meet ups. If you want one in your area get going on organizing it! discussion
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion NEW LOCATION

Indexable Face and End Mills

Janger

(John)
Administrator
Vendor
I am shopping for new end and face mills for my new mill a 9x30" knee. I see these choices below as being interesting options. I've never used these indexable type before so I'm not sure what to expect. Anybody have any comments?

$1oo
Fancy. Pricey inserts. Can I use this as a facing tool as well as end mill?
https://www.accusizetools.com/2-x-6...ls-with-5-apkt1604-carbide-inserts-0028-6906/
insert $7.80
vs

https://www.accusizetools.com/r8-shank-carbide-indexable-end-mill/
insert $3.60
vs

https://www.accusizetools.com/straight-shank-carbide-indexable-end-mills/

and there is this interesting set.:
https://www.accusizetools.com/0046-0700-3-ps-set-little-hogger-mills-1-dial-head-3-4-shank/
insert $5

John Conroy

Premium Member
I have one like the first one. I use it mostly for facing . Sometimes i use it like a fly cutter with only 1 insert. It takes a lot of power to drive it so you have to take shallow cuts unless you have a solid mill. My old square column mill did not like more than .015" doc in steel. You can get the inserts cheaper on ebay

PeterT

Ultra Member
Premium Member