• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - date Saturday, April 20/2024. discussion Please RSVP Here to confirm and get your invitation and the location details. RSVP NOW so organizers can plan to get sufficient food etc. It's Tomorrow Saturday! you can still RSVP until I stop checking my phone tomorrow More info and agenda
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion AND THE NEW LOCATION

How much would you pay for a Myford?

trlvn

Ultra Member
So I noticed a Myford metal lathe at auction down near Sarnia.

img.axd

The description only said "Milford Lathe 7 Blue Cabinet *Many High End Contents". Only 2 crappy photos.

I'm no Myford expert but given the drip oilers and lack of quick change gear box, it looks to me like an older ML7 -- not the more-desirable Super 7B or Super 7 Plus models.

The auction just finished...with a winning bid of $3,300!!! With 10% buyers premium and HST, that is $4,101.90 by my calculation.

:eek:

o_O

Yikes. The bid history shows 2 guys (I presume they are guys) slugging it out until one of them just couldn't press the Bid button any more!! The third place bidder dropped out at $1,550...which is still pretty rich in my view.

There was an in-person preview available. Maybe the cabinet is packed with all sorts of good stuff. Still can't imagine how over $4k can be justified for a change-gear lathe.

Craig

PS I hope the winning bidder isn't here reading this!

Mcgyver

Ultra Member