• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - date Saturday, April 20/2024. discussion Please RSVP Here to confirm and get your invitation and the location details. RSVP NOW so organizers can plan to get sufficient food etc. It's Tomorrow Saturday! you can still RSVP until I stop checking my phone tomorrow More info and agenda
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion AND THE NEW LOCATION

Help identifying an old lathe?

G-wpg

Hi All,

This is my first post, and I hope it is appropriate. I am very new to metal machining, and for the first time I venture out of drill press and hand file type of things. So, I bought an old mini lathe. It is missing any auto feed, but it has a chuck (for which I cannot get any keys, they seem to be 7.5 mm hex) and a 1/4" tool post.

Could you please help identifying it? My hope is to find manuals and parts for the thing. Thanks !

IMG_3514.JPG

francist

Super User
Not much to need a manual for, there are no gears of any kind to worry about so it’s pretty much just pulley ratios to calculate. My guess is it’s been converted from flat belt to v-belt for that age of machine so it’s a bit of a hybrid now. Interesting ways — one of each flat and prismatic. Don’t know that I’ve seen that before, might be a unique identifier if you want to chase it.