• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - tentative date Saturday, April 20/2024. Other regions are also discussing meet ups. If you want one in your area get going on organizing it! discussion
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion NEW LOCATION

Hello Everyone

ScottyM

Hi Everybody,

New member from Calgary currently living in northern Alberta. I found this forum a few months back when looking for a new lathe and decided it was time to sign up. I am a mechanical engineer that has always enjoyed making anything and everything. My thought process has always been why pay someone to do something when you can usually buy the tools for the same price and pick up some new skills doing it yourself. That being said, machining my own parts has cost me far more in tools than if I would have had them made but I am addicted to it!

In my free time I build classic trucks and design machine tools. I am very interested in precision measurement and the science behind it. Most of my projects revolve around taking advantage of simple laws to build precision tools on a hobby budget.

Recently I picked up a little QC54 atlas lathe that I have been rebuilding and modifying to see how much I can get out of light duty lathe. I was always curious what the table top machines could do and have so far been very impressed.

That's all for now, I look forward to spending more time on here and getting to know you all!

-Scott

ScottyM

Thanks fellas, I am in Calgary quite often and will hopefully be able to make it to some of the events/meetups.