• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - date Saturday, April 20/2024. discussion Please RSVP Here to confirm and get your invitation and the location details. RSVP NOW so organizers can plan to get sufficient food etc. One week to go! More info and agenda
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion AND THE NEW LOCATION

Grinding a has bit

DPittman

Ultra Member
Premium Member
Hi everyone, Merry Christmas!

I have very little experience ( none really) grinding effective hss tool bits.

I'm wanting to grind a 1/8" bit for broaching out a key way slot inside a aluminum wheel.
I hope to do this broaching with bit mounted in tool post on my lathe.

I'm thinking this is pretty basic but so am I.
Any tips or pictures on how to achieve this.

Thanks.
Don Pittman

DPittman

Ultra Member
Premium Member
Also...any good ideas on how to hold lathe spindle in one spot. The lathe has no back gear or mechanism to lock.

Dabbler

ersatz engineer
what lathe is it? I've never seen a lathe without a spindle lock...
usually you engage the back gear with the pin in, and that locks the chuck.

DPittman

Ultra Member
Premium Member
what lathe is it? I've never seen a lathe without a spindle lock...
usually you engage the back gear with the pin in, and that locks the chuck.

It's a craftex 10x22 lathe. Yup previous Atlas lathe had both the pin and back gears but this one does not.

DPittman

Ultra Member
Premium Member
Ha ha! I just watched a Tubalcain video that showed me exactly how to do what I want! He used a cut off blade.

However I'm still looking for help on how to hold my spindle in place.

Don

Dabbler

ersatz engineer