• Spring 2024 meetup in Calgary - tentative date Saturday, April 20/2024. Other regions are also discussing meet ups. If you want one in your area get going on organizing it! discussion
  • We are having email/registration problems again. Diagnosis is underway. New users sorry if you are having trouble getting registered. We are exploring different options to get registered. Contact the forum via another member or on facebook if you're stuck. Update -> we think it is fixed. Let us know if not.
  • Spring meet up in Ontario, April 6/2024. NEW LOCATION See Post #31 Discussion NEW LOCATION

Busy Bee CX709 chuck help

Marknb

First off, I’m still very new to machining, and might not have all the terms right.

I have a used cx709 lathe I picked up a couple years ago. Yesterday I tried to fit the 4 jaw chuck to it, but the screw holes in the backing plate don’t line up to the holes in the chuck. The 3 jaw is fine, and so is the face plate (they use the same mounting holes).

Can I enlarge the holes in the backing plate to fit, or is there a better option?

Thought I’d ask before I do something I’ll regret.

I’ve attached a couple photos to hopefully show the issue.

Attachments

• 1DA76E97-8834-4C72-B43F-EE0FC7ABBFC5.jpeg
    1DA76E97-8834-4C72-B43F-EE0FC7ABBFC5.jpeg
    299.5 KB · Views: 13
  • 608337E4-5ABF-478C-ACA2-8CE59622A25D.jpeg
    608337E4-5ABF-478C-ACA2-8CE59622A25D.jpeg
    532.4 KB · Views: 13

Larry_C9

Premium Member
If I was doing it I would make a separate backing plate for the 4 jaw chuck. The flat head slotted screws are not the best thing to use to attach the chuck. You want it good and tight and as solid as possible. All the backing plates I have seen are attached with socket head screws. I definitely would not enlarge the holes. You are just asking for trouble there.

curmudgeon

(Steve)
from the manual
1681230996869.png
1681231028155.png

I would consider:
a) 3 new holes in the flange to align with 4J chuck, or